The One by Kiera Cass | Book Chat

the-one-review.png

If you have not read The Selection and The Elite, I suggest not reading this review, for risk of spoilers


Blurb

The time has come for one winner to be crowned.
When she was chosen to compete in the Selection, America never dreamed she would find herself anywhere close to the crown—or to Prince Maxon’s heart. But as the end of the competition approaches, and the threats outside the palace walls grow more vicious, America realizes just how much she stands to lose—and how hard she’ll have to fight for the future she wants. 

Goodreads


My Review

Hello bookworms and welcome back! It’s a bright and steaming hot Sunday here in Perth, Australia and I thought, what better way to make the most of this day than to hide in the dark cave of my room and write a book review? #lifeofabookworm 

On this fine afternoon, I am doing the review of the last book in the Selection trilogy following America Singer and her journey to win the Prince, and the crown! 

The One is possibly, by far, my favourite book in this entire trilogy. However, I believe that The Selection comes close to being a favourite too. However, The One is it’s own unique brand of favourite in my mind, because while The Selection  was a warm up for everything that was going to happen, The One was a roller-coaster of angst, almost-there’s and extremely swoon-worthy moments; something The Selection didn’t have enough of. 

I was glad to find that this finale novel contained much less of America’s frustrating actions. Compared to The Elite, this novel really toned down on America’s impulsive, annoying nature. I was sure that I wouldn’t be able to handle anymore of it after finishing The Elite. Of course, she did have her moments, and her indecisiveness was still alive and kicking. 

I still wanted to shake America to wake her up to her senses. Honestly, her indecision between Maxon and Aspen was simply ridiculous by this point. If America hadn’t cut off Aspen so many times and just let the man speak, so much trouble would have been saved! Like come on America, Maxon is obviously endgame, STOP JUMPING BACK AND FORTH LIKE A DANG FROG. (Frog? I don’t know bookworms, lets roll with it okay?) 

More than anything, one of my favourite parts of this novel is Maxon. Prince Maxon. Oh goodness, I can honestly say throughout this entire novel, I was swooning over him, even when he wasn’t doing anything swoon-worthy. 

“I do intend on giving you things, but that’s not what I mean. I’m going to love you more than any man has ever loved a woman, more than you ever dreamed you could be loved. I promise you that.”

~ Maxon

CAN WE JUST… *dies* WHERE IS MY PRINCE IN REAL LIFE? I WANT PRINCE MAXON. It’s in these moments and all other moments when Maxon does things like this, that I wonder how America could hold off for three entire books without falling so in love with Maxon that she can’t see anyone but him. Because within a week I’d be done for. My heart would be sold. Or am I just a weakling in the heart?

“I want everything with you, America. I want holidays and birthdays, the busy seasons and lazy weekends. I want peanut butter fingerprints on my desk. I want inside jokes and fights and everything. I want a life with you.” 

~ Maxon

I can’t say anything about that quote except: I volunteer as tribute to replace America right now. Please, pretty please, with a bright red cherry on top. *cries* 

Essentially, this series is a total pleasure read. I read this for the story, for the crazy romance and the journey, rather than an intricate plot, well-built world or amazing writing. The plot of this novel is fairly average. I’ve said this before in other reviews previously, but there are possibilities for different directions for this series. It could have easily became an intense and brilliantly written adventure with political intrigue and a beautiful romance, but alas, no. 

However, there were some great action scenes, and I loved the twist with the rebels. I liked seeing more involvement of the rebels in the entire story and there were even some unexpected surprises along the way! 

There’s not much to say about this book really, except that it’s addictive. You can read it within two days, or even in one sitting if you had the time (I finished it in two days because you know, why the heck not?). Even though I knew the outcome of the novel, I was so scared for the whole situation. When conflict arose, I almost cried with the fear that what I knew was going to happen, wouldn’t happen. But of course, it did, because books can’t magically change their endings after they’ve been written. 


And that is all for today’s review. I hope you all enjoyed reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it! 

Have you read The One? If so, what did YOU think of it?

concludingimage2

26 responses to “The One by Kiera Cass | Book Chat”

  1. I swear this series doesn’t get enough love sometimes! Okay, fine, maybe it isn’t the most quality writing out there, but it sure takes us on a hell of a ride and it’s still a super addicting series, am I right? 🙂 So glad you enjoyed this book! America is definitely someone who tested my patience, but in the end, I was satisfied.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes! I think one of the best qualities of a good book is the fact that it is able to take you on a journey. After all, not all books are written to be literary and deep.
      I was satisfied too!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. […] I reviewed the last book in the Selection series: The One […]

    Like

  3. WeAreThePoisonedYouth (BookLoverFob) Avatar
    WeAreThePoisonedYouth (BookLoverFob)

    OMG THE ENDING THOUGH POORPOOR CELESTE MY FAVE YES ASPEN AND LUCY YESYESYESYESYES

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Agh, yes I was so sad for Celeste! Aspen and Lucy were cute, but I felt sorry for Anne! 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      1. WeAreThePoisonedYouth (BookLoverFob) Avatar
        WeAreThePoisonedYouth (BookLoverFob)

        Oh yer that was so sad!!! Xx

        Liked by 1 person

  4. This book WAS addictive! The whole series was, in my opinion. Even when I was, like you, being annoyed at America’s behavior in The Elites, something about the writing style was so easily flowing and fun to read. Wonder what she’ll come out with next!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know right?! Despite all its frustrations, I just wanted to keep reading.
      I hope she comes out with something new soon! 😄

      Like

  5. I wanted to slap America across the face so many times during this book. JUST LET GO OF ASPEN ALREADY. I also volunteer to take her place since she doesn’t appreciate Maxon. Omg those quotes *heart eyes* He’s just the sweetest! ❤

    I agree that I read it mostly for the romance and the drama. The plot and world were definitely sub-par. What I didn't like about The One as a final book is that it was too romance-focused. I know she tried to include more about the rebels but that was never really properly resolved? I mean… they attacked but are we supposed to just assume that all the bad rebels died and the rebellions stopped? Or is the whole getting rid of the caste system supposed to end the rebellion? I didn't really understand what happened at the end, besides Maxon and America declaring their eternal love to each other. I thought the world she created had such great potential and it was completely wasted.

    But the question now is… are you going to read The Heir?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ugh yes, I know right? And Aspen had kind of given up on her already and SHE DIDN’T LET HIM SPEAK UP.
      Yes let’s volunteer together, for this prince that steals our hearts 😍

      Liked by 1 person

  6. AMERICA KIND OF DOESN’T DESERVE MAXON LET’S MAKE HIM REAL AND THEN CLONE HIM SO ALL OF US FANGIRLS CAN HAVE HIM 😀

    Liked by 3 people

    1. YES SHE DOESN’T, WR COULD BE TEN TIMES BETTER GIRLFRIENDS THAN HER LETS DO IT! 😍

      Liked by 1 person

      1. YES WE WOULD! LET’S MAKE MAXON REAL ❤

        Liked by 1 person

  7. Maxon is so adorable! Are you going to continue with the rest of the series? And did you know that there’s a book called happily ever after with a bunch of novellas from the other characters such Marlee and amberly!? I think that prior to the release of the one, the whole fandom was either team aspen or maxon, and so the one was like the big reveal, but looking back, I feel like it was kind if obvious that she would end up with maxon… ;D

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Maxon truly is a sweetheart, he totally stole my heart throughout this entire series!
      I could see how obvious it was the entire time, to be honest! I was never, ever, EVER Team Aspen! The moment her came into the novel I wanted him gone!
      Thank you for stopping by 💓

      Liked by 1 person

  8. After the Elite I very nearly gave up on this series and then someone convinced me to read this. I have to say America remains one of my least favourite characters ever and she annoyed me for the first two thirds of this book but thankfully it picked up towards the end. I will not be rushing to read the Heir.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re so right, America is one of my least favourite characters as well. She had her good moments, but…
      I’m glad you read through right to the end of this one! Leaving it at The Elite would have been a bitter end for you. 😌

      Liked by 1 person

  9. You perfectly summed up how I felt when I read The One. It’s such an addicting book – and an addicting series, too -, and kind of a guilty pleasure to read it. Every single time, I asked myself WHY does America have such a hard time choosing, when MAXON is obviously the right answer?!
    You’re so right about it, though. The Selection series could have been one of those unforgettable series with political intrigue, romance, but it was missing kind of, substance? I don’t know how to put this, it’s a guilty pleasure, but it doesn’t feel like this great adventure, when you read it. Anyways, it’s still a great and addicting story 😀
    Great review 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! It’s such a guilty pleasure read, and I was constantly asking myself what America was thinking and I was always placing myself if her shoes and thinking, “I would have already given myself wholly to Maxon by now!”.

      Yes! It lacked substance! I can imagine just how awesome it could have been if it went in that direction. Of course I’m still glad for the direction it went in.
      Thank you Marie! 💕

      Liked by 1 person

  10. those quotes… yep, definitely reading this in December…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ye you need to read it! For Maxon and his swoon worthiness!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. will do, for sure, it’s already on my list for next month – I do listen to you, you know?! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  11. No worries,sweety 😉 and of course you’re not the only one… 😊

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I had read the #TheOne and read it in one-sitting (obviously) it’s so beautifully written and the ending was just so..haha! Honestly “The One” has so many twist and turns that I almost thought that Prince Maxon and America wouldn’t end up together.And I love everything about it,how the character building engrossed readers of #TheSelection to love some character that they hate on the first place (I bet you know what I mean.You’re right about “The Elite” tho 😂.I am so perplexed and frustrated to America that sometimes I just stop reading suddenly then hold my breath for a while ’cause I just can’t take where her indecisiveness is leading her.Love your review and looking forward to our chat about books 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for stopping by! I’m glad I’m not the only one who though Maxon and America were almost not going to end up together!
      Oh and yes I had to pause so many times to regain my patience in The Elite! 😂

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me your fabulous thoughts, bookworms!