Book Chat | Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi

Shatter Me

13455782

AUTHOR: TAHEREH MAFI
PUBLISHED: 2ND OCTOBER, 2012 BY HARPERCOLLINS
GENRE: YA, DYSTOPIAN, SUPERNATURAL, ROMANCE
SERIES: SHATTER ME #1
FORMAT I OWN: PAPERBACK
PAGES: 340 
MY RATING: 4/5 STARS


Blurb:

Juliette hasn’t touched anyone in exactly 264 days.
The last time she did, it was an accident, but The Reestablishment locked her up for murder. No one knows why Juliette’s touch is fatal. As long as she doesn’t hurt anyone else, no one really cares. The world is too busy crumbling to pieces to pay attention to a 17-year-old girl. Diseases are destroying the population, food is hard to find, birds don’t fly anymore, and the clouds are the wrong color.
The Reestablishment said their way was the only way to fix things, so they threw Juliette in a cell. Now so many people are dead that the survivors are whispering war – and The Reestablishment has changed its mind. Maybe Juliette is more than a tortured soul stuffed into a poisonous body. Maybe she’s exactly what they need right now.
Juliette has to make a choice: Be a weapon. Or be a warrior

Click here to go to the Goodreads page!


My Review:

Hello bookworms and welcome back! Today, I am bringing you a review of Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi! I loved this book. I think it was a beautifully written, fresh take on the dystopian genre with a hint of the superhero themeit gives me X-Men vibes. I’m probably officially addicted to this series. I just finished reading it and I’m so tempted to purchase the next book on my Kindle. I honestly feel the need to read it right away. But how about I tell you why exactly I’m addicted to this series? Let’s go.
shattermereview

Let’s kick off the review with discussing the characters. I thought they were written well. Juliette is our main protagonist and she is a 17 year old girl with the ability to kill people with her touch. Her skin is literally a death trap. She’s been locked up in a prison-like institute with no human contact, left to rot because of who she is and what she can do, until one day, the people who locked her up decide to take her out. Now, Juliette was a wonderful protagonist and I loved reading from her point of view. I genuinely liked her. She was feeble, weak and scared when we first meet her in the book. She’s not an annoying or frustrating character by any means. She’s living in fear and guilt of who she is and the things she’s done that she never actually meant to do. 

Juliette, despite this, is a strong character. She genuinely wants to do good things and hates the power that she has and what it can do. I felt like she has so much potential in the next novels and already, I’m beginning to see development from her. 

Adam is the next character we meet. I don’t know what to think of him. He’s a pretty grey character for me. As I was reading him, I’ve come to the conclusion that he is too perfect. It’s honestly a little suspicious. He is strong and kind and loyal, but I feel like I need a little bit more from him, a little something interesting. But at the moment, he’s like a plain piece of paper for me. 

Next up, we have Warner. Oh, Warner, our antagonist, our villain. I know that everyone loves him, but at this point in the book, all I see in him is a obsessive, possessive, slightly creepy and insane man. But my goodness he is a wonderful antagonist. His character is so intriguing, it’s as if Tahereh Mafi took all the colour out of Adam and mixed it in with Warner’s already extremely interesting character. Warner is really intriguing. He’s crazy and totally over-obsessive towards Juliette, but there’s something else about him, something that flickers in and out of his personality that has me hooked to see more of him. And of course, I can’t help but be drawn to these bad boys. Bad boys in need of redemption. Yes. Yes. 

And last of all, Kenji. Everyone who has read this book loves Kenji. And how can anyone NOT like him? First of all, I love his name. I could say it over and over again, in my head and out loud. Second of all, he is so funny. He is the comic relief in this novel. From the moment he was introduced, I was smiling. He takes everything lightly, making a joke out of anything. I’m so happy and excited to see more of him. 

Let us move on to the discussion of the plot. Man, did this book move fast. In one day, I got through pretty much 80% of the book. When I put it down to check how much I’d read, I just stared in shock at how much progress I had made. This book is so fast-paced you wouldn’t believe. At times, I felt like it was a little too fast-paced. I felt like **THIS MAY BE A SLIGHT SPOILER SO SKIM OVER THIS IF YOU HAVEN’T READ IT** that when Juliette and Adam escaped, it was so quick. I thought they would have stayed longer with Warner. **SPOILER OVER** 

But it was such an enjoyable read, I loved almost every minute of it. The world building, I’d say is pretty average for a dystopian novel. The world is destroyed, thanks to our tampering with it as humans and our chemicals and waste and so on, and a new and corrupted government has taken control and is making life hell for everyone else. I hope to see more world building but honestly, this is not so much a problem for me. I am already very interested in the conflict between everyone that I can overlook the lack of impressive world-building. 

Now, let’s get to the really good stuff. Tahereh Mafi’s writing style. Dang, was it wonderful beautiful and unique. I think however that the writing style is a hit or miss with people. Either you really like it, or you don’t. Sometimes, the crossed out words, the lack of using appropriate punctuation where there needs to be can be slightly annoying but I think it really added to the entire feel of things, really added to the emotions that Juliette was feeling. The effect it had on the whole atmosphere of the story was impeccable and I really loved it. It was different. And what I really loved about this book is that it didn’t read with the vibe that most dystopian novels give me. It was a completely new vibe, with a really wonderful X-Men vibe mixed into it. I love superhero stuff. And this book gave off waves of the superhero theme. 


Overall, I recommend this book to all of you. Well, I recommend you read all the books that may come off as interesting to you, because you never know until you try! I know there are mixed feelings about this book, but honestly? I loved it. It’s not going to feel like your typical dystopian. It’s not going to read like your typical dystopian either. So pick it up, if not, just to try. 

Have you read this book? If so, what did you think of it?

If you HAVEN’T read it, has this review made you want to pick it up?

~ josiethebookworm xoxo

42 responses to “Book Chat | Shatter Me by Tahereh Mafi”

  1. […] gave this book 4 stars. Click here to see my review. Click here to go to the Goodreads […]

    Like

  2. This review definitely has me intrigued! 🙂 I had heard of Shatter Me previously, but I had never looked into it; I tend to prefer contemporary fiction over dystopians. Nevertheless, it sounds so interesting – I will be looking for a copy next time I go to the library!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you think so! It was honestly such a fast paced and enjoyable read and I do hope you enjoy it. I’m a more fantasy, dystopian kind of girl myself, but I love me a good contemporary. I need more recommendations, actually. So I would love if you had some good ones to offer! xoxo

      Like

  3. This is my favorite series! I am so happy you finally read it and enjoyed it the first book. Ignite Me is my favorite because is perfect. Can’t wait you read Unravel Me!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh I’m so glad that it is!
      I cannot wait to read the next books, oh my gosh ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  4. aentee @ read at midnight Avatar
    aentee @ read at midnight

    I love your blog’s graphics!

    Also fantastic review, this is a series that is on my radar due to how popular it is. Character development and great writing are the two keys that will convert me into a fan, so I’m glad to hear the book has both!

    Like

  5. YAY! I’m so happy you loved Shatter Me. This series just gets better and better! Character development at it’s best. This is also the time I absolutely wanted to punch/kick a certain area of Warner’s being. Also, Adam surprised me in this book. Like you are what?! Yes, you just can’t stop reading. I think I even forgot to pee and eat when I was reading this. lol I can’t wait for you to start Ignite me. AAHHHHHHHHH. The feels are returning. Can’t wait to fangirl with you about this! Yes, Kenji will just get funnier and funnier. Love that guy! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad I loved it too!
      Are you a Warner fan? And, how did Adam surprise you?
      Oh my gosh I think I just totally zoned out while reading this book too! Not peeing or eating just to read this book honestly wouldn’t have been a problem for me. 😂
      Eep! You’re making me so excited!!!
      Before I get to ignite me I’ll have to read Unravel Me! But I can’t wait. Kenji is just wonderful. xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, I love Warner with a passion very intense. Especially in Ignite Me. *heart eyes* I didn’t expect Adam was a “double agent” I thought he was like Juliette lol I seriously can’t wait for you to finish the series so we can fangirl!!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I know right? I was like, What? Adam? Who ARE you?! XD
        I’m so excited for us to fangirl about this, so much! xoxo

        Liked by 1 person

      3. ME TOOOOOOOO! Tell me asap! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Great review! I love Mafi’s writing! It was all so poetic and very powerful/effective. I liked Juliette as a character and I liked seeing her growth in the book. She wasn’t the same girl in the prison by the end of the book. I actually liked Adam’s character– I can’t remember why not because I read this book years ago but I remember loving him so much. I don’t like Warner at all — for the reasons you listed. Just couldn’t. Which is also why I stopped reading the trilogy after the first book because of how things started to turn out after Destroy Me came out. This was the first trilogy/series that I’ve DNF-ed and never looked back. I did love Kenji though – he was my favorite and if there was a book dedicated to just him, I’d be on it lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you agree about her writing style and about Juliette!
      Ah, well I just couldn’t bring myself to like Adam. He feels really weird to me! I don’t know why!
      Glad you see Warner that way. I don’t know how ANYONE could like Warner in the first book.
      Have you read Destroy Me? It changed my entire perspective on Warner, now he’s on his way to be a book boyfriend of mine. But he needs to prove his worth, of course. (Hopefully in the next books).
      Kenji was just wonderful! It would be so great if Mafi wrote a novella for Kenji.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Haha yeah I wish I could remember exactly why I loved Adam. But I’ve seen a lot of people feel the same way about him.

        I haven’t read Destroy Me but I had kept up to date with the direction of the trilogy and I didn’t like it so I stopped reading lol (eek terrible, I know!)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. It would’ve been a good conversation to havebif you remembered 🙂
        Aw that is a shame! Maybe you should check out Destroy Me and see what you think? ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Yeah maybe I will. If I do, I’ll let you know!

        Liked by 1 person

  7. You must read the last two books ASAP!!!! You will love Warner….I hope so anyways. HAHA

    Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I know, I know!
      I just finished reading Destroy Me, and I’ve started falling for Warner. I understand why everyone loves him now! ❤ xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  8. I loved Shatter Me, I’m so glad to read that you loved it, too! Great review Josie! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m glad I enjoyed it. xoxo 😄

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I’m glad you really liked it! I absolutely adored the writing, so the lack of real plot didn’t really bother me much either in the first book (and it gets better in the next).
    I find world building always a difficult one, because we see what happens from the viewpoint of one person, and if this person has been locked up for a while, that means we (as readers) also won’t find out. I’m mostly ok with that.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m glad you agree! I am excited to see where the plot goes next.
      And I think I know dystopian worlds enough already so I think I’d be completely fine with a mediocre effort if it continues the same for the rest of the series!
      Thank you for stopping by. xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  10. this is definitely on my list of priorities for the month of August 😀

    I’m so glad you enjoyed it

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m so glad that it is, I think you will definitely enjoy it! In fact, I hope so. xoxo

      Like

      1. I’m sure I will! And I can’t wait to start, but I have the Throne of Glass trilogy first on my TBR list 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. THRONE OF GLASS MUST BE READ! Its my favourite series so far and I can’t express my love for it enough. I am SO SO glad you’ll be reading it first. 😄👏👏👏

        Liked by 1 person

      3. actually I’m just about to start Throne of Glass 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  11. Great review! 🙂 I really can’t wait to read this book! I’ve been wanting to for so long!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! When you get to it, I hope you love it. xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  12. It’s an amazing trilogy so good that I’ve binge read it.I like Kenji too and always loved the humor he presented in the plot.I Hope you like the other books too. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I wish that I had all the books so I could read them all in one go.
      Kenji is fabulous, I can’t wait to read more about him! And I hope so too! Thank you for stopping by. xoxo ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      1. You need to prepare better for the next books they’re going to be so much intense. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  13. Yayayayay you read Shatter Me!! *Cue extreme invisible happy dancing* I’m so glad you enjoyed it! And if you liked the characters in this one, just wait ’till you read the next two books! I loved both books, like honestly, they were fantastic. ❤ Oh, and Destroy Me? Just about killed and revived the inner fangirl in me, x10! It was just so heartbreaking and I simply loved Warner… 🙂 Anyway, great review! I agree, the writing style is definitely a subjective preference, I'm glad you enjoyed it though!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay I know! I’m so glad I read it too!
      YES Destroy Me is amazing. I think Warner is about to make a spectacular entrance to my book boyfriends list. ❤
      Thank you, I’m glad you enjoy and agreed. xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Omg, (I’m like repeating this a thousand times, but whatever) just wait ’till you read the last book! Lol, I’m almost squealing just thinking about it… 🙂 I can’t wait to see what you think of the next books! No pressure, though. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Hehe! Your excitement is so contagious! You’re making me want to spend all my money on the entire series like, right now! I’m so excited too!
        No pressure indeed, hahaha 😉
        xoxo

        Liked by 1 person

  14. I keep seeing this book everywhere and the cover alone makes me want to own it. It won’t be long till I cave in and buy it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yep, I caved because of the cover and the hype. And I’m glad I did! I hope whenever you get it that you enjoy it too! xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  15. Nola @ bookfuls Avatar
    Nola @ bookfuls

    I was interested to see that you thought Juliette was a great character! I’ve seen many reviews (including my own) describing her as frustrating. I guess this goes to show people can have such differing opinions on books! I didn’t like the first book much but the second one is definitely better, so I can’t wait to see what you think about that one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yeah, I think maybe people saw her as frustrating as a misunderstanding. Its known that she develops a lot throughout the series but in this first book, she is weak and pretty broken from being locked up in an institute.
      I couldn’t find anything frustrating about her. She is recovering from everything and she’s trying to understand who she is.
      I can’t wait until I read the next one too. xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  16. I loved that book so much that I maratoned the next two after reading it =). Wait until you read the next books. You will probably read 100% of the book in one day instead of 80% =)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I bet that’s exactly what is going to happen with me! I’m currently reading Destroy Me and I got through most of it in one sitting!
      Thank you for stopping by. xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

Tell me your fabulous thoughts, bookworms!