Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes // Book Chat


Title: Gathering Darkness

Author: Morgan Rhodes

Series: Falling Kingdoms #3

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Publish Date: December 9th 2014

Publisher: Razorbill

Edition: Hardback

Critical Rating: 4 stars

Entertainment Rating: 5 stars

My Review:

Gathering Darkness is the third book in the Falling Kingdoms series by Morgan Rhodes and by far an improvement from the first and second books in the series. As predicted, this series seems to get better with each book. The plot was well developed here as Morgan Rhodes did a great job with bringing together each character’s storylines together. You start to gain even more insight into the personality of the characters and this is the book that will get you infinitely more invested in the character’s lives if you hadn’t already. There’s trickiness and unclear motives, deception and tension. There’s slow burn romances and many unexpected moments and outcomes. If you have yet to be impressed by this series, just wait until you read Gathering Darkness because IT IS FABULOUS.

Let me tell you why.

If you haven’t read Rebel Spring or the Falling Kingdoms series at all, I suggest checking out my previous reviews:

Falling Kingdoms review

Rebel Spring review


Sometimes with multiple POVs there is a struggle to find the right flow with all the character’s storylines. Why are these particular characters chosen as main characters with their own POVs? Do their storylines come together somehow? In Gathering Darkness, the answer is YES. In the first two books of the series, Morgan Rhodes introduces to us the cast of characters. We’re shown their personal struggles, what they are dealing with and the situations they are all in but we are not shown how they relate to one another, or at least, it isn’t obvious how all of their lives will come together. Gathering Darkness trumps all of this. The convergence of all the characters’ lives: Cleo, Magnus, Jonas, Lucia and all the other characters, is there. It’s EPIC. I was so excited and gripped into the story because I was finally seeing how these extremely different characters come together to strive for one main purpose – whether or not their loyalties and motives were vastly different.


One word I’d have to describe the Falling Kingdoms series with so far, would definitely have to be death. Someone is almost always getting killed. While I thought Rebel Spring had gone way too far with killing, to the point where it was totally unnecessary and I felt no remorse towards any of the character’s deaths, Gathering Darkness improved slightly. KEY WORD: SLIGHTLY. There was still death. Quite a bit of it. People getting killed, being deceived and such. While there were a couple of deaths that induced no emotion at all out of me, there were a few deaths that shocked me or made me quite sad about.


I could never resist a good romance and that’s what Gathering Darkness gave to me. While there were some romance instances that I didn’t connect with – because they were too sudden or unjustified, there were others that had me silently shipping and then suddenly squealing for joy at the possibilities. Okay, I’m just going to say it, and tell you who I ship beyond words: (ignore this and move on to the next paragraph if you don’t want to be spoiled, of course, I’m just stating my ship, so it’s not really spoilers) MAGNUS AND CLEO. I thought I shipped Cleo and Jonas, and while they’ve got something good going on, I could not help but FALL IN LOVE with Magnus and Cleo together. Being forced to marry one another while they both obviously despise one another? YES. GIVE ME THAT HATE-TO-LOVE RELATIONSHIP. I adore how slow burn their relationship is and it’s definitely the highlight of this novel, for me.


The way Gathering Darkness was written, was great. It was eventful and there was an air of tautness, but things progressed at a nice pace. Gathering Darkness worked as a slow build up that ended with an incredible crescendo. The end scene of the book is by far, my favourite scene in the series so far. All storylines converge, crap hits the fan, people die, surprising and dangerous alliances are made and the cliff hanger. OH MY. All I want to do is start reading Frozen Tides RIGHT NOW. But alas, other reading duties await me.

Gathering Darkness is by far the best book in the series as of yet. It’s proven, at least to me, that this series does indeed get better with each book. If you’re having doubts about the series after reading the first and second book, DON’T STOP. Read Gathering Darkness before you make any decision to DNF, otherwise you could be potentially missing out! Read Gathering Darkness to see character worlds collide, to see more tension and to see twists and surprises.

Have YOU read Gathering Darkness?

If so, what did you think of it?

4 responses to “Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes // Book Chat”

  1. OKAY BUT CLEO + MAGNUS THOUGH. After reading Frozen Tides, I really can’t ship her with Jonas anymore. He’s bothering me.
    OKAY BUT THE END. What is Amara. what is she.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES CLEO AND MAGNUS. OOH I can’t wait to read Frozen Tides! 😱
      Amara, omg. I don’t even know!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve been wanting to read the Falling Kingdom series! I’ve heard so much about it but didn’t really know if it was worth it! I’m glad I read little snippets of your review (I didn’t want to spoil myself) but I’ll definitely come back later to read the whole thing!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Your should read it! It starts of pretty average, but it gets better with every nook, I guarantee.


Tell me your fabulous thoughts, bookworms!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: